7 Continents of the World - Geography for Kids | Educational Videos by Mocomi

  • Published on:  3/10/2013
  • 7 Continents of the world and more geography facts.

    Continents are very large landmasses found on Earth. The Earth has seven such continents. They are (from largest in size to the smallest): Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe and Australia.

    Asia - Asia is the world’s largest and most populous continent on Earth. It covers 30% of the Earth’s land area. Asia hosts about 60% of the world’s current human population.

    Africa - Africa is the second-largest and also the second most populated continent in the world, after Asia. The continent of Africa covers 20.4% of the world’s total land area. Africa has a population of 1 billion which accounts for about 14.72% of the world’s human population.

    North America - North America is the third largest continent. It occupies 16.5% of the planet’s land area. In 2008, its population was estimated at nearly 529 million people. It is the fourth most populous continent after Asia, Africa and Europe.

    South America - South America is the fourth largest continent in terms of area. It is also the fifth most populous continent after Asia, Africa, Europe and North America. South America is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and to the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean.

    Antarctica - Antarctica is the fifth largest continent in area. About 98% of Antarctica is covered by ice that averages about 1.6 kilometers in thickness. It is the coldest, driest and windiest continent. Antarctica is considered a desert, with only 8 inches of rainfall in a year. There are no permanent residents on this island, but only a few thousands of people, who live here at the research stations found across the continent.

    Europe - Europe by convention, is one of the world’s seven continents divided from Asia by the Ural mountains stretching right up to the Caspian Sea. It is the world’s second-smallest continent by surface area. It covers about 6.8% of the Earth’s surface area. It is bordered by the Arctic Ocean to the north, the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Mediterranean Sea to the south, and the Black Sea to the south east.

    Australia - Australia is the smallest and lowest-lying human-inhabited continent on Earth. As Australia is mostly on a single landmass, it is also referred to as an “island” continent, surrounded by oceans. The continent of Australia also includes nearby islands Tasmania, New Guinea, the Aru Islands, and the Raja Ampat Islands, geologically.


    For more information about the continents of earth, read: https://mocomi.com/continents-of-the-world/

    Watch more geography videos in one go here https://www.201tube.com/video/urr53arh--E/video.html

    Subscribe here for new and interesting content every week ► ► https://www.youtube.com/mocomikids?sub_confirmation=1

    Press Bell Icon 🔔; For Latest Updates.
    Thanks for watching! Don't forget to give us a Thumbs Up 👍!

    For more such earth and geography related videos and interactive articles, go to: https://mocomi.com/learn/geography/

    Follow Mocomi Kids - Top educational website for kids,

    on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/mocomikids/
    on Twitter https://twitter.com/MocomiKids
    on Pinterest https://www.pinterest.com/mocomikids/
    on Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/mocomikids/
    on LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/company/mocomi-kids